Thursday, May 5, 2011

Forgiven (ARC) Faithful Series


Author: Janet Fox

Publisher: Speak (An imprint of Penguin)

Pages: 288

Read Time: Three Sittings

Rating (1-5): 5

Tag Words: Historical Fiction, The Faithful Series, strong female, the San Francisco Earthquake, falling in love, helping victims of sexual abuse and sex trafficking

My Summary:

Kula Baker doesn’t cry, she doesn’t show emotion, or get attached. Kula Baker doesn’t get her heart broken.

Kula Baker thought she had it all figured out until she finds herself navigating the society of San Francisco, the bedlam streets of Chinatown and the path to love. When disaster strikes she finds how much she has that is worth the heartbreak, and that through the rubble Forgiveness is waiting for her embrace.

My Review:

I Love this series. It is so amazing and it personally feeds my heart.

In my review of Fox’s debut, Faithful, I stated that though this book is exactly my cup-of-coffee-with-a-biscotti-and-a- handsome-barista I don’t believe everyone will find that same satisfaction between the pages. I will still try and convince you to pick it up.

Fox’s writing is such a breath of fresh air. It’s raw and honest, without being dramatic and advantageous. She paints portraits of the scenic wilderness in Montana as skillfully as she illustrates the hectic streets of San Francisco. She writes characters with fallacies and passion who have to come across life lessons the hard way. She writes love stories that are the reward of leaning on something greater, rather than overwhelming the plot in angst. I love it all!

I cannot wait to read books three and four as well as future works by Janet Fox, who has graciously sought to donate part of her authors proceeds from the sales of Forgiven to The National Center For Missing and Exploited Children, because the 1906 San Fran earthquake did not rid the world of the travesty of sexual trade involving children and minors. San Francisco in 1906 is only a taste of what the worlds sex-trafficking rings look like in the present day and I am so glad Kula’s path led her to give her life to the girls who suffered abuse; it was an amazing way to Forgiveness.

Notes on the Names:

I really loved the characters names in this one, we have:

Nat and Kula Baker

David and Ty Wong

Phillipa Everts

Will Henderson

Josiah Wilkie

and my very favorite name, which just sounds like an artists name, Sebastian Gable.

Thoughts on the Cover:

Such a gorgeous cover! I am very glad that the model looked right, as I had some issues with the “Maggie” on the cover of Faithful.

I love that the designers have continued the trend of using the dresses Fox imagines on the models.

Parental Book Review *spoilers*

Sexual Content:


Kissing without much detail.





The book revolves around the fact that wicked men are importing young Chinese girls to become child prostitutes.

David dies by gun shot, there is blood, but no gore.

Other Notables:

I would highly recommend this to any Clean Reader.


Amy (ArtsyBookishGal) said...

I really want to read the books in this series. They look amazing. BTW, have you heard of THE INTERNATIONAL JUSTICE MISSION?

Rebecca Herman said...

I thought this book was really good two! I didn't know there were going to be two more books, looking forward to them!

Anonymous said...

remarquablement, la phrase utile